The Sweet Gig Review – Rock City Nottingham December 2022.

The Sweet Gig Review - Rock City Nottingham December 2022.

Ah, the sweet memories of The Sweet! I’m sure we’ve all heard of the butterfly effect, where one event can set off a chain of other events that leads you to a certain point in time. Well, The Sweet have been just that for me. It all started on the 12th of December 1973 when they appeared on Top of the Pops with Blockbuster. For a 7-year-old, it was life changing! That moment was my gateway into rock music. Fast forward to today, and it has shaped my life in so many ways. Now here I am, at Rock City, finally seeing The Sweet live – or at least, the only remaining original member, Andy Scott. Does it matter? Absolutely not! This is a nostalgic trip and I know I’m going to love every minute of it, hearing these classic songs live.

The Sweet Gig Review – Rock City Nottingham December 2022.

Today marks the end of an incredible 15-day tour, and the band is going out with a bang! Paul Manzi Ex Cats in Space is on vocals, and his energy is just what the show needs. His vocals are the perfect complement to the band’s sound, and it’s clear that the audience is thrilled with the performance. It’s been an amazing tour, and the perfect way to end it is at Rock City.

For their second track, the band played an amazing cover of Russ Ballard’s classic New York groove, made famous by Ace Frehley. But this version was even better, as it was fused with Alicia Keys’ “Empire State of Mind”! It was truly incredible – the perfect combination of two classic songs. Watch the video above.

Halfway through the set, Paul had the crowd chanting in anticipation, “We Want Sweet”! Everyone was so excited and the energy was palpable. It was truly a magical moment and it was clear that everyone was having a great time. Paul had the crowd in the palm of his hand and it was a joy to witness. It was a perfect way to get the crowd ready for the classic hit, Teenage Rampage. What an amazing performance! At the end, Paul beamed with joy and exclaimed, “Now that’s why they call it Rock City!”

Wig Wam Bam followed by Little Willy – you just can’t beat the classic hits! It’s a greatest hits tour where everyone knows every song. There’s nothing like singing along to your favorite tunes with a crowd of people.

Andy tells us they have a new single ‘Don’t bring me water’ out next year and an album to follow called ‘Paradox’! Not bad for a band that has been going for 50 years.

I would normally encourage everyone to go out and buy a ticket to see these guys live, but unfortunately tonight is the end of the road for this tour. However, I promise that you won’t regret going to see The Sweet live when they come back around. Don’t miss out on the opportunity to see this amazing band!

The Sweet Setlist

  1. Action
  2. New York Groove(Russ Ballard)
  3. Hell Raiser
  4. Burn on the Flame
  5. The Six Teens
  6. Everything
  7. Windy City
  8. Set Me Free
  9. Teenage Rampage
  10. Wig-Wam Bam
  11. Little Willy
  12. Love Is Like Oxygen
  13. Fox on the Run
  14. Encore:
  15. Blockbuster
  16. The Ballroom Blitz,
The Sweet Gig Review – Rock City Nottingham December 2022. @ Rock News.

You can check out even more from Sweet here.

One thought on “The Sweet Gig Review – Rock City Nottingham December 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *