New MusicReviewsThe Dust Coda News

All Killa No Filla – A review of Mojo Skyline the new album by The Dust Coda.

The Dust Coda Mojo Skyline review.

It’s an old cliché but the new album by The Dust CodaMojo Skyline” really is all killa no filla. With soulful bluesy vocals from John Drake and killer riffs, each song stands out as a classic. The last few years have seen loads of great new British Rock bands coming on to the scene, but personally I think this is the strongest sophomore album from any of them. Classic Rock is alive and well.

It kicks off with the song Demon that tells you exactly what to expect from the album, strong punchy riffs and strong vocals.

The Next single, getting air play on Planet Rock (which is where I discovered them), The Dust Coda brought us “Limbo Man”, an instant hooky riff and chorus you can sing along with instantly. The video for this one was recorded at the Top Gear test track at Dunsfold Park and was directed by Jamie Wanstall.

The Dust Coda’s third release “Breakdown” is described as a cautionary tale about the dark side of show biz. This one was directed by Keir Siewert who had previously worked with the band on the “Let Me Go” video. The song is about selling out in the music business and not staying true to who you are.

“Jimmy 2 Times” is a Lock Stock style caper song and video shot in London. It was directed by Andy Morahan known for Guns N’ Roses’ “November Rain” amongst others.

Mojo Skyline was recorded at Modern World Studios and produced by Clint Murphy who has previously worked with Thunder, Manic street preachers and Devilskin.

The striking album cover was designed by Nick Dwyer, best known by beer drinkers as the designer of the Neck oil and Gammer Ray cans from Beavertown Brewery. The Dust Coda will perform on the prestigious main stage at this years Ramblin’ Man Fair on Saturday 17th July 2021.

Out this Friday the 26th, get your copy of Mojo Skyline here.

The Dust Coda Mojo Skyline review
The Dust Coda Mojo Skyline review

Rock News had the pleasure of interviewing Adam from The Dust Coda back in January, read the what they had to say here.

Track-listing for Mojo Skyline 
1. Demon
2. Breakdown
3. Limbo Man
4. Dream Alight
5. Jimmy 2 Times
6. Rolling
7. Bourbon Pouring
8. I’ve Been Waiting
9. She’s Gone
10. They Don’t Know Rock ’n’ Roll
11. Best Believe it
12. It’s A Jam

The Dust Coda Mojo Skyline review @ Rock News.

You can check out even more from The Dust Coda below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *